Bad Romance

1 08 2012

I’m allergic to cats.

I’ve been living with this allergy my whole life, despite my attempts to “expose” myself to cats to maybe develop a tolerance or something.  So naturally I’ve been dealing with being around cats by getting stuffed up, having my eyes water, and sneezing uncontrollably afterwards for years.

You’d think that’d be enough to make me decide to stay away from them!  You’d think..
Lately however, I’ve been having a very strong desire to have an animal in the apartment.  Jeff and I would never get a dog since we live in an apartment and making a dog live in such a small space is just cruel.  I’ve thought about lizards or something but I  just don’t know enough about their care, plus they’re just not quite as loving.  So I keep finding myself going back to the idea of a cat.

Somewhere in my mind I see myself finding a hypo-allergic breed that I can adopt from a shelter and we’ll live a happy life together.  But that probably won’t happen.  I’ve also developed a hatred of cats.. but the more I think about it I think it might mostly be from the allergy.  I DO however have an issue with cats being one of the very few species that hunt just for fun.  They kill because they can.. so that kind of sucks.

😐 Right?

Also they treat their owners like inferiors and that we OWE them food and attention for how ‘perfect’ they are.  Eff that cat!  You’re a cat!  Get over yourself and go poop in the box I’ve bought for you, you piece of crap.

Still!  With all of these emotions.. my longing to have a pet is stronger and I still want a cat (even if only because we can’t have a dog.  And no one had better say that we should just get a small dog; they’re just not worth it!  Why have a dog if it can’t wrestle back, actually cuddle up next to you, or be friendly with visitors rather than just yippy and afraid).

This is all leading to my trip to the humane society today.  I took my brother because he was feeling a little down, his best friend moved across the country today, so send him some positive thoughts.  I didn’t go looking to actually adopt a cat, but the feeling just won’t go away.  I want a pet so badly!  What do I do?  There are two kittens there that I think are friends and they both loved me too and they were really cute and purred all the time.. they were playful and not all squinty-eyed and mean like some can be.  I want them.

The problem?  I fell in love with these kittens, but as soon as I had decided it was time to go back home I was already stuffed up and snotty.  Blerg.  I don’t really like the idea of taking allergy medication everyday.. so what’s a good way to approach this issue?  Your thoughts and suggestions are very welcome!

Thanks for reading!

Actions

Information

9 responses

1 08 2012
Dede

I am allergic too 😦 ! But there are some breeds of dogs that are perfectly ok with apartment living because they don’t require tons of exercise !! Also not ALL little dogs are yappy. My Tucker isn’t he is great and has a real man dog bark 🙂 I hope you find something soon to quench your pet neediness! xxo

2 08 2012
brian8915

Thanks Dede! I might have to look into a different pet, I’ve been reading up on allergies to cats and basically the answer is just “stay away from them”

1 08 2012
brittney

Brian, I wish you weren’t allergic! I love my cat and I think having a dog would just be so much work. Maybe you could be a dog foster parent?? Nat and Christine are considering it, talk to them 🙂

I had fun catching up on your blog. Hope everything is swell!

2 08 2012
brian8915

Dog foster parent sounds awesome! I’ll definitely look into that! Thanks for the idea Brit! 🙂

1 08 2012
Rebecca Thompson

Do some research on dog breeds, Bri, like Dede says. There’s a couple large breeds that are pretty mellow and don’t mind apartment living, as long as they have a place to curl up and sleep — also, having a dog might help with your resolution to get active, since you can’t slack off a day when the dog needs to be walked! 🙂

2 08 2012
brian8915

That’s very true Becca! Thanks for the suggestions 🙂 I hope we get to see other soon by the way..

3 09 2012
Rebecca Thompson

I hope so too, but I fear it may be a vain hope, as I’m heading back out West no later than halloween (possibly earlier if this job comes through) You’ll just have to come out and visit – Edmonton is more fun than Edmunston, I bet!

2 08 2012
Carrie Vanderheyden Cummings

Hamsters or guinea pigs are so funny when they run around in the little plastic ball. Some people like rabbits and keep them in a cage and then let them run around but you have to pick up their little “raisins” and they really do not have personalities like a cat or a dog. Then there are the hairless breeds of cats like the one seen in Austin Powers flicks. Would that solve the allergy issue? If you got a small dog but you were really selective about finding one with an easy going attitude you could have a good friend there who would just want you to take him to the park every so often and outside early every day. But I’m really curious if the hairless cat thing would work even though they’re appearance is so odd. Good luck. Just don’t get a snake because you would have to feed it rats. yuck,

2 08 2012
brian8915

Hamsters and guinea pigs are really funny aren’t they. I’m not terribly keen on picking up their little poops either hahaha
The hairless cats might be a bit too odd looking for me, so I might have to just decide to not get a cat after all 😦

Leave a Reply

