Pumpkin Soup

22 07 2011

(How convenient is it that there’s a song called Pumpkin Soup!?)

This post is mostly for Brittney

I’m not as adept as she is and I prefer cooking to baking, but for you Brittney, and maybe some of my readers, my post about my favourite soup to make from scratch!

I learned how to make it when I was in Australia, one of the few things my ‘land lady’ actually made for us but it was delicious.

It’s a squash soup (or pumpkin soup down under) and I hope some of you aren’t going to stop reading as soon as you see that; I actually PROMISE that it’s delicious. I haven’t had anyone try it and say they didn’t like it! Even my friend Verna had some and said “I don’t like squash soup, but I’d definitely have a bowl of that”.

It’s super easy to make and only has a few ingredients! The hardest part is cutting up the squash.

20110722-083243.jpg

Basically, the recipe looks like this:

1 Pumpkin (butternut squash)
3 potatoes per whole pumpkin
1-2 Tbsp. Orange Marmalade (to taste)
1 Whole White Onion
1 Box of Veggie Stock
Cumin (to taste, about a teaspoon)

Fry the onion in butter slowly in the soup pot while you chop everything else up (keep it at a low temp so it doesnt burn or get too brown). Cut up the potatoes and squash into small pieces (not important how small, the smaller the faster your soup will be ready). Throw the potato and pumpkin into the pot, fry them a bit and get rid of the starch. Then put in the stock and other ingredients and let them all brew for about 1.5-2 hours; until everything is soft. Use a hand blender or something similar to blend it all into a smoothie like consistency when it’s done!

It’s sooo delicious and tastes even better with a glob of sour cream in it! Enjoy

20110722-083414.jpg

Actions

Information

One response

24 07 2011
brittney

Ahh! I didn’t get notified that you “tagged” me. This is wonderful! I will definitely give it a try. I’m not a huge squash fan but I trust you and I could use some more vegetables in my life 🙂

Leave a Reply

