Stuck for the Summer

6 07 2011

I’ve actually had a few people ask me why I haven’t updated in a while!  That was a bit of a surprise, but I really appreciate the enthusiastic readers! 🙂

Just a heads up, my regular life is MUCH more boring than the life I lived in Australia hahaha, so be prepared for a mediocre post.

I realized that I haven’t really told you guys what my current situation is in depth!  So in short, I’m living with one of my good friends Sunny and my boyfriend Jeff in Fredericton, New Brunswick.

Sunny and I ready for St. Patrick’s Day

I work at the Limerick Pulp and Paper Research Center here on campus for one of my professors.  I was originally supposed to work with one of the masters students working there helping him with his work, but he didn’t really NEED me so I’m helping with work that has to be done for clients instead.  It’s pretty repetitive, but it’s busy so the days go by quickly!  I just wish I got to be outside for nice days like when I lifeguarded rather than inside playing with wood pulp.  Guh.

Last weekend was so awesome; Jeff and I went back to PEI for Canada Day weekend.  I tried to get my work done as fast as I could so that we could leave as early as possible (Jeff luckily had been given most of the day off!).  We jumped in the car Thursday afternoon and trecked to PEI.  In short, the line up of events was going to the drive-in with Callen and Tom, fireworks, camping, and the beach.

Tom and Callen (sorry bout the drink picture Callen)

Kung-Fu Panda 2, Transformers 3, and Super 8 were playing.  We watched the first two and all four of us agreed that Kung-Fu Panda was better than Transformers.. that movie SUCKED.  Don’t watch it.  After Transformers was over it was 2 in the morning and we were all pretty discouraged from the level of shittiness so we left before Super 8 came on.  Soooo can’t tell you if that was good or not!
Friday was Canada Day!  We went to Tea Hill Beach (Park?) to help out and volunteer with the events going on there, then came back in town to meet up with some of my friends to have some drinks before going to watch the fireworks.  They were really nice and the group was pretty great :).

Canada Day!

Other Brian looks pretty squinty, Jeff’s a bit sunburnt, my eyes are red, Claire’s Blurry… but whatevs.  It was fun.
Saturday came next (it’s after Friday, then Sunday comes afterwards) and we went camping with my dad and the dog!

Zeke!

It was actually SUPER fun.  My dad used to take me and brothers camping a lot when we were younger and we’ve tried to keep it up as much as we can.  We go camping camping too, not that campground in a RV type camping.  We pack a tent, some food, little stove, cooler, etc. and a canoe.  We go out to the middle of nowhere, canoe up a river, and set up camp in a clearing.  It was amazing.

Sunday we came back a little worse for wear in the way of mosquito bites, a lot sweaty but very happy.  When we got back home it was beautiful out so we unloaded all of the camping stuff, let Zeke run to the basement to cool off, and Jeff and I packed up our beach stuff!  We were only there for about an hour but we had to go before we went back to Fredericton, it wasn’t an option.  So all in all, a pretty freakin good Island weekend I think!  Drive-in, Fireworks, Camping, and the Beach!

Canada Day Fireworks

(Sorry Shayna, I stole that picture from you)

The week went on as usual after that, work Monday, Tuesday, and today.  We went to the grocery store yesterday and spent a small fortune on food.. mostly for Air Miles deals..  but we won’t have to go back for awhile I think!

Hope you all had a wonderful Canada Day and week so far!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

